AAT Exams

AAT is a fantastic qualification both in its own right and as a stepping stone to further qualifications, including the ACA. The qualification is made up of three stages which each take between 6 to 18 months to complete:

Course level

Modules Undertaken

Foundation Certificate in Accounting


  • Bookkeeping transactions
  • Bookkeeping controls
  • Elements of costing
  • Using accounting software
  • Work effectively in finance
  • Synoptic assessment


Advanced Diploma in Accounting


  • Advanced bookkeeping
  • Final Accounts preparation
  • Management Accounting:  Costing
  • Indirect Tax
  • Spreadsheets for Accounting
  • Synoptic Assessment


Professional Diploma in Accounting


  • Management Accounting:  Budgeting
  • Management Accounting: Decision & Control
  • Financial Statements of Limited Companies
  • Synoptic Assessment

Plus at least two of the following optional modules;

  • External auditing
  • Business Tax
  • Personal Tax
  • Credit Management
  • Cash and Treasury Management




Each module listed above is assessed with a computer-based exam which focuses on your analytical and interpretative skills.

Each stage is a qualification in itself; however you must complete the Professional Diploma to be eligible to apply to become a Member of the Association of Accounting Technicians. It is only once you have completed the Professional Diploma that you can go on to study the ACA, ACCA or CIMA. At Goodman Jones, all of our trainees follow the ACA route.

To see if the AAT qualification is suitable for you, you can take the AAT skill-check test here; http://www.aatskillcheck.org/home.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f

Digital design & strategy by Tribal Systems & Spinach Consultancy